Do you have an exceptional CNA that is a certified dementia practitioner that you would like to recognize?

Take the opportunity to make a nomination today.

NCCDP CNA of the Year Nominations Close May 30, 2017!

In honor of National Nursing Assistant Week (June 15-22, 2017), the National Council of Certified Dementia Practitioners (NCCDP) is seeking nominations for the “CNA of the Year.” The nomination is open to CNAs, HHAs, GNAs and PCAs.

Requirements include:

  • Minimum 5 years’ experience in a health care related setting (nursing facility, assisted living, home health/hospice, adult day care, etc.)
  • Must be a Certified Dementia Practitioner (CDP), and also hold certification as a CNA, PCA, HHA and/or a GNA in good standing
  • Must have completed a state approved training course
  • Must be a full time employee.

The nomination must be accompanied by five letters of reference from either coworkers or department managers. Three of those letters must be from the Administrator, Director of Nursing and Activity Director, and one letter must be from a patient/resident or a family member (on the resident’s behalf). Specific information that must be included in the letters of reference can be found in the instructions for the nomination.

The winner will be announced in person and will be recognized in a press release. In addition, the winner will receive a cash award of $500.

Visit to download the application and full instructions; place your cursor over the “Services” tab, the click on “the “CNA of the Year” link to complete the download. Nominations must be submitted to NCCDP by email at, no later than May 30, 2017.