Bronze Awards: Texas long term care facilities receive national recognition

June 11, 2019


Contact: Benjamin Gaddis, (512) 542-9955

Texas long term care facilities receive national recognition

Nursing homes recognized for commitment to improving quality of care despite chronic state underfunding

(AUSTIN, Texas) — Nineteen Texas long term care facilities have earned national recognition for their commitment to improving the quality of care for their residents. The facilities have been awarded the 2019 Bronze – Achievement in Quality Award by the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL). The award is the first of three distinctions possible through the AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program, which spotlights providers across the nation that have demonstrated their dedication to improving quality of care for residents and patients in long term and post-acute care.

The facilities were able to gain the national honor despite one of the lowest Medicaid reimbursement rates in the country that’s left Texas’ more than 1,200 nursing homes scrambling to provide quality care.

“We are proud of what these facilities are able to accomplish given the significant challenges that Texas nursing homes are facing. Texas is currently underfunding its nursing homes by over $945 million, and the legislature did nothing to address the issue this legislative session. That combined with a staffing crisis that leaves many facilities struggling to cover shifts daily, these nursing homes reflect the industry’s commitment to provide the best care possible given the circumstances,” said Kevin Warren, president and CEO of the Texas Health Care Association.

Based on the National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, the AHCA/NCAL’s National Quality Award Program challenges member providers to achieve performance excellence through three progressive levels — bronze, silver and gold. Providers begin the quality improvement process at the bronze level, where they develop an organizational profile with fundamental performance elements such as vision and mission statements, and key strengths and challenges. Bronze applicants must also demonstrate their ability to implement a performance improvement system. Trained examiners review each application to determine if the center has met the demands of the criteria.

The 2019 bronze winners are:

  •  Arbrook Plaza
  •  Balch Springs Nursing Home
Balch Springs
  • Beacon Hill
  • Brady West Nursing & Rehabilitation Center
  • Clyde Nursing Center
  • Colonial Pines HealthCare Center
San Augustin
  • Diversicare of Lake Highlands
  • Golden Acres Living & Rehabilitation Center
  • Green Oaks Nursing Center
  • Green Valley Healthcare & Rehabilitation Center
Fort Worth
  • Heritage Park Rehabilitation & Skilled Nursing Center
  • Legend Oaks Healthcare & Rehabilitation
  • Park Manor of The Woodlands
The Woodlands
  • Prairie Estates
  • Santa Fe Health & Rehabilitation Center
  • Truman W. Smith Children’s Care Center
  • Val Verde Nursing & Rehabilitation Center
Del Rio
  • Whitehall Nursing Center
  • Wisteria Place


A full list of the recipients is available on the AHCA/NCAL Quality Awards website here.


About THCA
Founded in 1950, the Texas Health Care Association (THCA) is the largest long term care association in Texas. THCA’s membership is comprised of several hundred licensed nonprofit and for-profit skilled nursing facilities (SNFs), specialized rehabilitation facilities and assisted living facilities in Texas. These facilities provide comprehensive, around-the-clock nursing care for chronically ill or short-term residents of all ages, along with rehabilitative and specialized medical programs. THCA also represents more than 190 long term care businesses that provide products and services to the state’s approximately 2,850 nursing homes and assisted living facilities. To learn more, visit or connect with THCA on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube