Texas Health Care Association Names 2019-2020 Board of Directors

October 3, 2019


Contact: Tim Conger, (512) 542-9955

Texas Health Care Association Names 2019-2020 Board of Directors

Leaders elected to further THCA’s mission of advocating for long term care in Texas

(AUSTIN, Texas) The Texas Health Care Association (THCA) has announced the election of its 2019-2020 board of directors. The board of directors governs and guides the association, which is one of the largest long term care trade associations in the country.

The incoming board members were elected by the organization’s House of Delegates during its 2019 Annual Convention held in Grapevine from Sept. 16-19. The convention is the largest gathering of long term care providers in the Southwest, and this year’s event was attended by 800 representatives of nursing homes, assisted living centers and supporting businesses.

The newly elected board officers are Chair Ron Payne of Southwest Long Term Care in Plano; Vice Chair Ron Haney of Cascade Health Services, Ltd., in Lufkin; Secretary Mary Pfeifer of Advanced Healthcare Solutions, LLC, in Arlington; and Treasurer Stan Studer of Touchstone Communities in San Antonio.

Other incoming board members include Independent Owner Council Chair Brad Stebbins of Retirement & Nursing Center/Austin, Ltd., in Longview; Multi-Facility Council Chair Andy Ashton of Ensign Services in Mission Viejo, Calif.; Assisted Living Council Chair Ryan Harrington of Trinity Healthcare, LLC, in Fort Worth; AHCA Council of States representative Derek Prince of HMG Healthcare in The Woodlands; Business Advisory Committee Chair Buddy Parker of TwinMed LLC in Dallas; Nurse Council Chair Robin Hayes of Touchstone Communities in San Antonio; Elected Director Rebecca Lea of Ensign Services in Mission Viejo, Calif.; Elected Director Steven Boulware of Priority Management Services, LLC, in Dallas; and Appointed Director Troy Langsdale of ML Healthcare in San Antonio. Regional chairs also elected to the board are Michael Perkins of Pebble Creek Nursing Center in El Paso, Region 2; Susan Peters of Brookdale Alamo Heights in San Antonio, Region 3; Julie Wyatt of Heritage House of Marshall Health & Rehabilitation, Southwest, LTC, in Marshall, Region 4; Raymond Howard of Friendship Haven Healthcare & Rehab in Friendswood, Region 7; and Jody Scarbro of Arbrook Plaza in Arlington, Region 8.

The incoming board members’ one-year terms began Oct. 1.

“We are thrilled about the level of experience and innovation in long term care that the incoming board of directors brings to the Texas Health Care Association,” said Kevin Warren, president and chief executive officer of THCA. “The accomplishments of these board members in caring for elder Texans is impressive, and we look forward to benefiting from their leadership on a statewide scale to continue our efforts to improve the lives of Texans living in long term care facilities.”


About THCA
Founded in 1950, the Texas Health Care Association (THCA) is the largest long term care association in Texas. THCA’s membership is comprised of several hundred licensed nonprofit and for-profit skilled nursing facilities (SNFs), specialized rehabilitation facilities and assisted living facilities in Texas. These facilities provide comprehensive, around-the-clock nursing care for chronically ill or short-term residents of all ages, along with rehabilitative and specialized medical programs. THCA also represents more than 190 long term care businesses that provide products and services to the state’s approximately 2,850 nursing homes and assisted living facilities. To learn more, visit http://txhca.org/ or connect with THCA on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube